The Friends of St-Laurent Boulevard are proud to present their audioguide “10 Moments on the Main”.
Discover the rich history of the Boulevard one moment at a time!
Saint-Enfant-Jésus was the first Catholic parish along Saint-Laurent Boulevard, outside the old city. The church was inaugurated on Christmas Day, 1858 – in the fields on the side of a country road. It later became the institutional centre of the village of Saint-Louis-du-Mile-End, at the end of the 19th century. Over the course of decades, the parish was subdivided to create many new parishes in Outremont, on the Plateau, and in Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie. The church obtained its current appearance at the turn of the 20th century with the addition of a new façade and an enlargement by the architect Joseph Venne.
Kevin Cohalan of the Société d’histoire du Plateau-Mont-Royal will guide us around the church and speak about the return of the great angel statues which surmount the façade, created by sculptor Olindo Gratton. The angels were restored to their places in June 2015, after almost 40 years spent elsewhere. After the church visit, a short illustrated presentation by Justin Bur, president of the Friends of Saint-Laurent Boulevard, will discuss the church in the context of the development of the boulevard.
The presentation will be followed by the annual general meeting of the Friends of Saint-Laurent Boulevard.
- Thursday 10 December, at 5 pm
- followed by the AGM from 6 pm
- Saint-Enfant-Jésus Church, 5039 Saint-Dominique Street
- Free, no reservation required